The Top 2 Tips You NEED to Know for Making Graphic Design | Suzy

Graphic Desing Tips Image 2

 

Hey guys! Suzy again, and with this week’s post, I’m gonna share with you some of my best tips for making images, headers, or just any graphic design. Lots of people have been requesting something like this, so here it is!

Now, I know there are only two, but these are the necessary things you need to know when making graphic design. Don’t worry though, I’m working on a bit more lengthy post to put on my own blog soon. πŸ˜‰

Graphic Design Tips:

1) Make it readable. This is probably the number one priority on making any sort of graphic design. Especially if you have a background image.Β I often use PicMonkey as my photo editor, and sometimes it can be a bit tricky to make my image readable. (I mostly use Canva to make most of my images, but that one’s a bit complicated) Take this image for example:

Graphic Design Tips example1

The fonts are pretty nice, but it is extremely hard to read. The colorful bokeh is super fun, but it is a major distraction and makes the words very indistinguishable.

Graphic Design Tips example2

Ok. This one isn’t as bad, but still pretty bad. The background is a pretty color (but not for me, being the pink-hater I am), but is not good for an image. It’s too bright and practically hurts my eyes. And on top of that, the words are the same. The colors are way too bright, and it makes me now want to look at the image. This isn’t good as the whole purpose of images is for people to look at them.

Graphic Design Tips example3

Doesn’t that look SO much better? All I did was add a white geometric overlay, give it a bit of fade, and placed it behind the words. Of course, this is just an example so it’s all off center and wacko, but this is the basic idea.

2)Β Make it interesting. Another important thing about making images, and especially headers, is you want it to grab the reader’s attention. Make it unique, make it gorgeous, make it pop out and say, “Hey! Come read this post, cuz I look cool!”. In the pink image above, not only did it hurt peoples’ eyes, but it was also looked incredibly boring. Here’s another example:

Graphic Design Tips example4

I mean, sure it sorta works, but just look at it for a minute. It doesn’t really pop does it? It just looks like someone grabbed a bunch of different overlays and slapped them on there without a second thought (which was kinda what happened XD ). And it’s just a simple square. Eh. Not that unique.

Graphic Design Tips exapmle5

I didn’t work too hard on this one, but you can still tell the major difference. I made it look like it was on a bulletin board and even added a little note in the corner. Now does that or does that not grab your attention?

Sooo

Did those work for ya? Hope they did! If you have any questions or need help, please don’t hesitate to let me know in the comments. πŸ˜‰

What are some of your graphic design tips?

25 thoughts on “The Top 2 Tips You NEED to Know for Making Graphic Design | Suzy

  1. Nice! I’ve been doing this kind of stuff for years (I would love to share my work with you girls!) and I’ve learned to keep things neat: neat but not boring of course. That is, when blending images, make sure your blending isn’t obvious: blend images of the same hue and natural background, so it’s easier to blend them. Use effective font styles that capture viewer’s attention, too! And of course, keep it allll in good quality xD The hardest part I have is blending images and GIFs together, because I don’t want to pay for a graphic service, so I have to use online-image-editor.com, and the GIFs and images blended are always too fuzzy :/ But yeah I’d love to share some of my graphics with you one day!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Those are some REALLY good tips! I am totally with you when it comes to being neat. That’s something I really try to stress when making an image.
      And yes, good quality is also extremely important when making images. I tend to make my blendings a bit blurry every once in a while, and they don’t turn out too well in the end result.
      I’ll have to check out that website though. It might be a bit more helpful. πŸ˜‰
      That would be so much fun! You are a lot more experienced than I am, so I would love to see them. πŸ™‚
      ~ Suzy

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I had exactly the first problem with my blog button – ended up making it look alright by writing in in a contrasting colour font, but it might look better with the white rectangle. Can you tell me how to do that? I used PicMonkey and it wasn’t one of the options……..

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hey Ide! You can actually do it on PicMonkey. πŸ™‚ You have to go to the Overlay section and the first ‘category’ that pops up should be called ‘Geometric’. You can click on that and then click on the rectangle. Drag it around, resize it, and make it white (or another color if you want)! Then if you want it to look a little faded just go to the box that says Overlay when you click on your rectangle. See the little Fade bar? Drag the dot along it until it’s faded as much as you want it to be. πŸ™‚

      Liked by 2 people

  3. Great tips!! I would say don’t make it too busy, but make it interesting and of course, make sure you can read the words. And I think if you CAN white letters always look cleaner and prettier :D.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, Hayley! ❀
      Yes, I totally agree. I mean, sometimes people like to make it busy (cuz that's their style), but keeping it calm is always the best way to go. And I also love using white letters. It makes it much neater. πŸ˜‰
      Glad you liked the post. πŸ™‚
      ~ Suzy

      Like

Did you like this post? Leave a nice respectful comment! :D

